AU Shield

Air University Catalog 

Air University Board of Visitors  

PURPOSE: The Board of Visitors is chartered to provide advice, views, and recommendations on the educational, doctrinal, and research policies and activities of Air University. The board advises the secretary of the Air Force through the AU commander on matters of policy regarding the mission of Air University.

MEETINGS: The board meets at least twice a year--in April at Maxwell Air Force Base (AFB), Alabama, and in March at the Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT), Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio. The board presents a written report with its views and recommendations to the AU commander. This report is then presented to the chief of staff, United States Air Force, and to the secretary of the Air Force.

MEMBERSHIP: The membership is selected from the fields of education, business, industry, the professions, and public service. Members normally serve three-year terms renewable up to a maximum of nine years at the invitation of the Air University commander in the name of the chief of staff, United States Air Force. Permanent committees of the board include the Air Force Institute of Technology committee and the School of Advanced Airpower Studies (SAAS) committee.


Dr. Samuel R. Williamson, Chair
Vice Chancellor and President
University of the South
Sewanee, Tennessee

Gen Jimmie V. Adams, USAF, Retired
Vice President, Washington Operation
L-3 Communication Corporation
Arlington, Virginia

Mr. Charles B. Alling Jr.
Kennebunk, Michigan

CMSAF James C. Binnicker, USAF, Retired
Academy Life Insurance Company
Director, Counselor of Operations
Alpharetta, Georgia

Gen Michael P. C. Carns, USAF, Retired
Pebble Beach, California

Dr. Thomas E. Cooper
Vice President, General Electric Company
Washington, D.C.
(AFIT Committee)

Dr. Ann Die
President, Hendrix College
Conway, Arkansas

Dr. Earl H. Dowell
Dean, School of Engineering
Duke University
Durham, North Carolina
(AFIT Committee)

Mr. Robert M. Egan, Vice President, Western Area Operations, IBM
Salt Lake City, Utah

Dr. George H. Emert, Chair-Elect
Utah State University
Logan, Utah

Lt Gen Thomas R. Ferguson Jr., USAF, Retired
Senior Partner, Dayton Aerospace, Inc.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
(AFIT Committee)

Dr. Horace Fleming
President, University of Southern Mississippi
Hattiesburg, Mississippi

Dr. Bill H. Harris
President, Alabama State University
Montgomery, Alabama
(SAAS Committee)

Dr. Robert A. Hoover
President, University of Idaho
Moscow, Idaho
(SAAS Committee)

Lt Gen Bradley Hosmer, USAF, Retired
Alexandria, Virginia

Dr. E. Jan Kehoe
Merced Community College District
Merced, California
(SAAS Committee)

Dr. Richard H. Kohn
Professor of History
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
(SAAS Committee)

Gen Thomas S. Moorman Jr., USAF, Retired
Alexandria, Virginia

Ms. Elizabeth R. Rindskopf-Parker
General Counsel, University of Wisconsin System
Madison, Wisconsin

Ms. Ann C. Petersen
Chicago, Illinois

Dr. Luis Proenza
President, University of Akron
Akron, Ohio

Mr. Charles W. Ritter Jr.
President and Chief Executive Officer
Attala Company
Kosciusko, Mississippi

Dr. Alex Roland
Professor of History, Duke University
Durham, North Carolina
(SAAS Committee)

Dr. Arthur Smith
President, University of Houston
Houston, Texas
(SAAS Committee)

Mr. Marc Stanley
Attorney at Law
Dallas, Texas

Mr. Gordon P. Street
President, North American Royalties
Chattanooga, Tennessee

Dr. Norman E. Thagard
Professor and Director of College Relations
Florida State University
Tallahassee, Florida
(AFIT Committee)

Maj Gen Lucius Theus, USAF, Retired
President, US Associates
Southfield, Michigan
(SAAS Committee)

Dr. Kathryn C. Thornton
Professor in Technology Communications, and Culture
University of Virginia
Charlottesville, Virginia
(SAAS Committee)

Lt Gen Bernard Trainor, USMC, Retired
Lexington, Massachusetts

Rev. Dave T. Tyson, C.SC.
President, University of Portland
Portland, Oregon

Dr. James H. Woodard, Past-Chair
Chancellor, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Charlotte, North Carolina

Previous Page    Back to Index    Next Page
Please read this privacy and security notice   Freedom of Information Act
This Site Maintained by MSD/ITSW
Maxwell/Webmaster | (334) 953-2622 | DSN 493-2622
Contents of this Web site Reviewed and Approved by AU/PA
For updates to the AU Catalog, contact Tom Lobenstein (OAS/PRB) at (334) 953-6452 or DSN 493-6452